Welcome to the Pindangan Festival 2010 Grand Street Parade Competition. More than 30 contenders showcased the best their schools, barangays and civic clubs can offer. The competition were divided into 3 categories ; Category A – for Elementary Schools, Category B – High Schools and Colleges, Category C – Barangays and Civic Clubs.

With the Motiff/Theme “BOTANICAL” (floral designs with emphasis on Neon Pink, Neon Green, and Neon Orange colors) the contenders used indigenous and recyclable materials for their costumes.

The participating teams danced all throughout the parade route, until they reach the glorieta in front of the town plaza. They compete again for the Production Number to the same music they danced during the parade, provided by the organizers headed by Councilor Joseph “jojo” de Guzman and Dr. Jessie Miranda.

At the start and during the contest proper everyone, were agitated inspite of the scorching temperature. Mayor Pablo C. Ortega, City Council and our foreign guests from the Netherlands; Group Study Exchange with their Team Leader Leo Boersen, joined a group of elementary students from Category A in dancing, with the delight of the audience.

At the end of the competition, the following contenders were pronounced as the best of the best.

Category A
Champion - Dalumpinas Elementary
1st Runner-up - San Agustin Elementary School
2nd Runner-up - Catbangen Central School

Category B
Champion - Union Christian College
1st Runner-up - Union Christian College High School
2nd Runner-up - La Union National High School

Category C
Champion - Barangay Poro
1st Runner-up - Barangay Ilocanos Sur
2nd Runner-up - Barangay Catbangen

Special Prize - Federation of Senior Citizen

The local government and organizers have taken great efforts to make this years celebration very exciting, colorful and memorable, one that tourist and visitors will never forget. Moreover, the yearly Rabii ti Pammadyaw was also conducted for the celebration of the city’s anniversary. Various awards were given to people who contributed to the progress of the city such as the Pagwadan Award given to Mr. Ives Q. Nisce and Mrs. Geraldine R. Ortega, City Service Awards to Mrs. Bienvenida Agtarap, Mrs. Lorena Cacdac, Mr. Hercules Cepriaso, Engr. Mariano Chan, Mrs. Jeanny Hao, Mr. Anacleto Zamoranos, the FCCCLU Volunteer Fire Brigade and Mrs. Delia Ortega.

The Youth Excellence Award to Mr. Ace Ceremonia and Special Recognition Awards to PCSupt Dominador Aquino Jr., PCSupt Charles Calima Jr., Mrs. Trinidad de Guzman, Mrs. Ophelia Bakker and Rev. Manuel Valdez. Indeed, the celebration of the 12th anniversary of San Fernando was a success and the city will continue to shine.


by: Myla B. Madrid

  Posted date : July 6, 2010  
  Copyright © 2007 San Fernando City, La Union, All rights reserved free hit counter javascript
My Stats
  This website is best viewed using Internet Explorer 6.0 or higher with 1024x768 screen resolution