36 new barangay captains take oath on Nov. 28


Thirty-six newly-elected village (barangay) captains and 23 re-elected incumbents of this city will take their oath of office on November 28, Wednesday at the Ortega Sports Center.

Mayor Pablo Ortega is expected to administer their oath-taking ceremony, including elected councilmen (kagawads) and 59 Sangguniang Kabataan chairmen and their councilors.

Meanwhile, the Liga ng mga Barangay election is also in the offing. Lita Gongora, city interior and local government director, said that the election of its new president, succeeding incumbent president, Justiniano Arzadon, will be held within 30 days after the oath-taking or the first week of December.

Arzadon, incumbent barangay captain of Barangay II, succeeded erstwhile president Mario Eduardo Ortega after the filing of candidacies for barangay polls last October. He will relinquish his presidency after the new one has been elected in December. Mario Eduardo, who had his last term as barangay captain in Barangay IV, ran and won as number one kagawad. 

According to the majority of barangay captains, the presidency will be a toss-up between an uncle, Ramon Monet Ortega of Barangay IV and his nephew, Manuel Victor “Mannix” Ortega of Barangay Canaoay, son of Gov. Manoling Ortega.


By: William Jun Garcia

  Copyright © 2007 San Fernando City, La Union, All rights reserved free hit counter javascript
My Stats
  This website is best viewed using Internet Explorer 6.0 or higher with 1024x768 screen resolution