transparency seal









Visitors Counter

Accumulated Number of Visits:

View More Details 



Effective February 1, 2018, the City Government of San Fernando will be strictly enforcing the use of pedestrian overpasses in accordance of the City Ordinance 2017-05, otherwise known as the New Traffic Ordinance of the City.

The City Ordinance 2017-05 was put into effect as part of the city’s measures to ensure safety among pedestrians and to ease traffic congestion in the city. It was authored by the Sangguniang Panlungsod headed by Vice Mayor Alfredo Ortega and was recently signed by Mayor Hermenegildo Dong Gualberto. The ordinance was then forwarded to the Sangguniang Panlalawigan and was approved later this year.

Under Article 10, Section 3 of the said ordinance, pedestrians are highly advised to utilize the pedestrian overpasses located in these following areas: Lorma Medical Center, Greenwich Pizza, City Plaza and BDO, City Plaza and Mc Donald’s and Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University. Only senior citizens, PWDs, pregnant women, individuals transporting or hauling goods, individuals with health concerns, children 6 years old and below and their companions are exempted from using the overpass for humanitarian and safety considerations.

In addition, according to Section 4 of the Penalty Clause, pedestrians who fail to use the designated overpasses shall be subjected to a fine of Php 200.00.

The City Government encourages the public to strictly abide by the traffic laws not to only guarantee maximum road security for motorists, commuters and pedestrians but to likewise promote order and discipline on the streets of the City of San Fernando.


Meanwhile, other sections of the ordinance include Section 1 under Article III, which mandates that parking is prohibited for light vehicles from 6:00 AM to 7:00 PM along these following streets: Quezon Avenue, Francisco Ortega Highway, Rizal Avenue, Gov. Lucero Street, Pardo de Tavera Street, Zamora Street, P. Burgos Street, Osmena Street, Gov. Ortega Street, Don Joaquin Street, Dona Paca Street, Governor Luna Street, Gen. Luna Street, Gen. Ancheta Street, De Guzman Street, Bonifacio Street, Rivera Street, Mabini Street, and F. Flores Street. Parking spaces shall be designated for exclusive use of persons with disability (PWDs). Drivers of the illegally parked vehicles shall be subjected to a fine of Php 500.00.

It also includes Section 2 under Article VII, which mandates that from 6:00 AM to 7:00 PM, the following streets such as Gov. Luna Street, P. Burgos Street, A. Bonifacio Street, Olarte Street, Bucaneg Street, Rivera Street and Lete Street are hereby declared as “One Way Streets” for all types of vehicles.

Furthermore, under Article X, Section 3 of the said ordinance, this section mandates “No U-Turn” along Quezon Avenue from Gen. Luna Street to R. Lete Street, F. Ortega Highway in front of Gabaldon, Mabini Street in front of Catbangen Community School and Rizal Avenue.

Mayor Dong Gualberto encourages everyone to be part of the traffic solution by being law-abiding citizens. According to him, “Ang batas na ipinatupad ay di lamang upang ayusin ang sitwasyon ng traffic ngunit para na rin masigurado ang kaligtasan ng mga pedestrians. Kahit ano pa mang batas ang gawin ng gobyerno, hindi maayos ang mga suliraning ito kung hindi pa rin matututong sumunod sa batas at di pa rin marunong dumisiplina ang mga tao.”



Recent Articles

Send Feedback


  • holcim.png
  • lueco.png
  • ppmc.png